Chianti and Tuscany have been inseparable from each other for centuries. Chianti was promoted to DOCG status in 1996 but not every ‘Chianti’ is permitted to promote itself as Chianti Classico Italian Winesuch and must first prove itself.

Only the better Italian wines are permitted to bear the DOCG predicate while the others may use Colli dell’ Etruria Centrale DOC on the label. Chianti DOCG only originates from seven defined areas: the central zone where they make Classico and the six hills around known as Colli: Arezzo, Florence, Pisa, Sienna, Montalbano, and Rufina. There is also a separate area in the neighbourhood of Empoli, but unlike the other areas, this one does not bear its locality name on the label. The wines from the central zone are also permitted to use the famous black cockerel emblem on the neck of the bottle in addition to the term Classico. This Italian wine is only allowed to be harvested and made in the local authority areas of Greve in Chianti, Radda in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti, Castellina in Chianti, and parts of Barberino Val d’Elsa, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Poggibonsi, San Casciano Val di Pesa, and Tavamelle Val di Pesa.


Read more about Chianti DOCG Wine ...